Dinner with Bae.

“Good evening, welcome to Ma Nonna’s. Can I get you started with a nice merlot?”

Just an hour and a half to close. Ninety minutes. That’s it. Deep breath.

“Good evening, welcome to Ma Nonna’s. Can I get you started with a nice merlot?”

She quickly evaluates her new table: very well-dressed couple, blonde woman has a fat diamond on her finger, man’s shiny, slicked-back hair matches his smarmy smile. Aw, fu-

–“Actually, we’d like two glasses of the Chianti, an order of the goat-cheese crostini, and the chef’s oyster special. Give me a second to look over the entrees.,” the woman rattled off without looking up from the menu. The waitress’ smile grew more strained.

-ck. “Excellent choice, and I’ll be right back to take your order.”

As she walks back, wine glasses balanced precariously on her tray, she notices the blonde’s well-dressed companion slowly sliding down in his chair, until his head disappeared under the tablecloth. The waitress leaned over to whisper to the woman who seemed deeply enthralled with the menu in her hands.

“Ma’am, I’m sorry to disturb you, but you are aware that your husband is hiding under the table?”

–“No he’s not,” she sighs, turning the page of the menu before continuing, “my husband just walked in through the door.”

 

crostini
I never thought I’d have a use for this picture I took of my wine and crostinis, but here we are. ┬áSeptember 12, 2014

 

Leave a Reply

